This was the stewards’ ruling on the Lewis Hamilton v George Russell collision in Barcelona

Mercedes and George Russell received a “formal warning” from the stewards at the F1 Spanish Grand Prix for their collision.
Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W14. Formula 1 World Championship, Rd 8, Spanish Grand Prix, Barcelona, Spain,
Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W14. Formula 1 World Championship, Rd 8, Spanish Grand…

Lewis Hamilton and Russell made contact with each other during🥂 qualifying due to what was labelled a “miscommunication”.

Russell seemed to end plans for a flying lap, ju🍰st as Hamilton was tr✨ying to pass him.

Remote video URL

Haꦿmilton was not told that Russell was moving slo🧸wly.

Russell, unawᩚᩚᩚᩚᩚᩚ⁤⁤⁤⁤ᩚ⁤⁤⁤⁤ᩚ⁤⁤⁤⁤ᩚ𒀱ᩚᩚᩚare of Hamilton, moved to th🍃e left and damaged his esteemed teammate’s front wing.

This “abnormal change o🃏f direction” from Russell is what the stewards were analysing.

Hamilton’s initial reaction was to call it “dang📖erous” on his team radio.

The FIA♔ ruling said that Russell admitted to stewards “he had not checked his mirrors” but also “his team🥀 did not inform him” of Hamilton’s approach.

“However, in mitigation, he was reacting 🉐to the car in front of him”, the document continued.

Hamilton will start from fourth in Ba💜rcelona, Russell 💙12th.

Read More